Today, Tom Dempsey, Missouri Senate majority leader, announced he will be resigning next week. Dempsey, R-St. Charles, will resign effective Aug. 17. In a statement he said:

“I have been blessed in more ways than I can count, and I leave owing a great debt of gratitude to my neighbors who have allowed me to serve,” Dempsey said in a statement. “However, my family is my highest priority, and in the proud tradition of the ‘citizen legislator’ the framers of our Republic envisioned, I now return to private life.”

According to STLToday: He was first elected to the House in 2000, where he eventually became majority floor leader. He was elected to the Senate in 2007, becoming majority floor leader before being elected to president pro tem, the Senate’s top position.

The Senate could vote to replace Dempsey as Senate President Pro Tem as early as the Sept. 16 veto session. Current Senate Majority Leader Ron Richard, R-Joplin, would be a logical choice. Richard could not immediately be reached for comment.

Click here for article

